Diwali or Deepawali is one of the biggest and most important festivals of the Hindu religion. The festival of Diwali commences from the day of Dhanteras and ends on the day of Bhai Dooj. This five day festival begins with Dhanteras and Narak Chaturdashi or Choti Diwali is celebrated on the second day. The festival of Diwali is celebrated on the third day, while Govardhan Puja is celebrated on the fourth day. Lastly, Bhai Dooj is celebrated on the fifth day.

[Holiday] Diwali Vacation Date By University 2020.

Primarily, the Diwali festival is dedicated to Goddess Lakshmi and Maha Kaali. However, Deva Dhanvantri, Yamraj and Lord Shree Krishna are also worshipped on the days of Dhanteras, Narak Chaturdashi, Govardhan Puja and Bhai Dooj. Moreover, in this 5 day Diwali festival on the day of Kartik Amavasya is considered to be very significant. On this day, Goddess Lakshmi is worshipped, and along with Goddess Lakshmi; Lord Ganesha, Goddess Saraswati and Maha Kaali are also worshipped.

There are some renowned scriptures which are known for the festival of Diwali. It is believed that on the day of Kartik Amavasya, Lord Rama returned Ayodhya after his 14 year banishment and Diwali commemorates the return of Lord Rama. On the return of Lord Rama, people of Ayodhya celebrated the day by lighting diyas. Since then, the festival of Diwali is celebrated. Apart from this, Lord Krishna killed the demon Narakasura and ended the terror of the demon making all the saints to get rid of him. And, after this only Narak Chaturdashi and Diwali is celebrated on Kartik Chaturdashi and Amavasya. Diwali is celebrated with different rituals in different states of India.
Previous Post Next Post